IMG_9929.jpg
In my banana skin...

I am a so-called "banana", French of Asian origin, born in Strasbourg, of a mother from Hong-Kong and a Chinese father from Indonesia. I grew up in France, graduated from HEC business school, worked a few years in Paris. Then I moved to Singapore with my husband in 2006. We are still there, now with 2 children and several bilingual schools that we have set up in the region. I also created a mobile math game for kids (Dragon Whiz, on Google Play and App Store).

Since I have lived in Asia, I have asked myself a lot of questions about my identity: I always felt very French, but suddenly found myself confronted with my Asian origins, by the way people look at me, here in Asia - whether by the locals or other French people.

And I realise that there is a whole part of myself that I have obscured and with which I now connect with curiosity ... by talking about it around me, I meet people in the same case, who share with me their own feelings, their experiences and their family background.

My project is therefore to collect these testimonies from Westernised people (French, American, Australian...) of Asian origin who return to live in Asia, and to share these fascinating stories. What do we know about the generation of parents who went to live in the West? How did their children grow up in Europe and why do they come back to live in Asia? How do they feel, what is their outlook on Asia and the countries their parents left?

 

To learn more about my background and my approach, listen to the first episode of my podcast!

And if you want to participate and share your experience, do not hesitate to contact me!

Email: viviane@bananasplitproject.com

2257852-1569569993292-88ed3ae1080fc.jpg
CONTACT

Thank you for your message!

BONJOUR ! MOI C'EST VIVIANE...

Je suis ce qu'on appelle une "banane", Française d'origine asiatique, née à Strasbourg, d'une mère de Hong-Kong et d'un père chinois d'Indonésie. J'ai grandi en France, j'ai fait HEC, travaillé quelques années à Paris. Puis je suis partie vivre à Singapour avec mon mari en 2006. Nous y sommes toujours, avec maintenant 2 enfants et plusieurs écoles bilingues que nous avons montées dans la région. J'ai aussi créé un jeu mobile de maths pour les enfants (Dragon Whiz, sur Google Play et App Store).

Depuis que je vis en Asie, je me pose beaucoup de questions sur mon identité : moi qui me suis toujours sentie très française, je me retrouve confrontée à mes origines asiatiques, par le regard que les gens portent sur moi, ici en Asie, que ce soit la population locale ou les autres Français.

Et je me rends compte qu'il y a toute une partie de moi-même que j'ai occultée et avec laquelle je me connecte maintenant avec curiosité...en en parlant autour de moi, je rencontre des personnes dans le même cas, qui me livrent leurs propres ressentis, leurs expériences et leurs parcours familial.

Mon projet, c'est donc de recueillir ces témoignages de Français d'origine asiatique, qui reviennent vivre en Asie, et de partager ces histoires fascinantes. Que sait-on de la génération des parents qui sont partis vivre en France ? Comment leurs enfants ont-il grandi en France et pourquoi reviennent-ils vivre en Asie ? Comment se sentent-ils, quel est leur regard sur l'Asie que leurs parents ont quittée ?

 

Pour en savoir plus sur mon parcours et ma démarche, écoutez le premier épisode de mon podcast !

Et si vous souhaitez participer et partager votre expérience, n'hésitez pas à me contacter !

Email : viviane@bananasplitproject.com

CONTACT
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Spotify Icon

© 2023 by Design for Life.

Proudly created with Wix.com